test 3The School of Languages, Literacies and Translation was established in 2008. It began as a language unit under the School of Education in 1972. The Language Unit provided the facilities for language learning for the campus community. Bahasa Malaysia and English were the main subjects offered and foreign languages namely Thai, Korean, Vietnamese and Tagalog formed part of its offerings. Since then, Bahasa Malaysia has been a compulsory course for all undergraduate students while foreign languages have been listed as elective courses.

In 1985, the Language Unit was upgraded to the Centre for Languages and Translation (CLT). Bahasa Malaysia was made the medium of instruction for teaching and learning and English became compulsory for all undergraduates. As a result, CLT took in a more prominent and significant role.Besides offering language courses, CLT also coordinated the development of terminologies in Science and Technology as well as other relevant fields. A terminology development committee was formed in every academic school at the university and CLT, through its Terminology Unit, played and advisory role. This terminology unit also shouldered the responsibility of providing assistance to Dewan Bahasa dan Pustaka (DBP) in terminology building in Bahasa Malaysia.

Continue Reading